Accueil | Nous joindre | English
 
 


Régionale de Fundy
Lieu : UNB Saint John
Date : le 7 avril 2017
Districts scolaires : Anglophone South
Date limite d'inscription : le 31 mars 2017


L'Expo-Sciences des Districts Francophones du Nouveau Brunswick
Lieu : Université de Moncton - Campus de Shippegan
Date : le 7 avril 2017
Districts scolaires : Francophone nord-est, nord-ouest, et sud
Date limite d'inscription :


Régionale de River Valley
Lieu : UNB - Fredericton
Date : le 7 avril 2017
Districts scolaires : Anglophone East, West, and North
Date limite d'inscription : le 28 mars 2017



EXAMPLE D'UN RAPPORT ÉCRIT

Vous trouverez ci-join, un exemple du type de rapport écrit que vous deverez soumettre aux juges lors de l'Expo-Sciences Régionale du N.-B.

Le rapport doit comprendre :
  • un titre,
  • le nom de(s) étudiant(s)/étudiant(es),
  • le nom de l'école,
  • la catégorie du projet,
  • une Introduction,
  • une section Méthodes,
  • une section Résultats,
  • une section Discussion (ou Conclusion),
  • et une Bibliographie.

INTRODUCTION
L'introduction présente le but de la recherche, ou la question qui a été posée. Elle est normalement écrite de façon à intéresser les lectrices et lecteurs. Une façon de faire cela est de présenter les différentes hypothèses qui étaient à l'étude, et de faire des prédictions sur le genre de résultats qu'on pourrait obtenir basé sur ces hypothèses. On peut aussi mentionner l'aspect appliqué ou économique du sujet.


METHODES
La section Méthodes décrit le protocole de recherche qui a été suivi, de telle façon qu'il serait possible pour la lectrice ou le lecteur de reproduire la recherche dans ses grandes lignes.


RÉSULTATS
La section Résultats décrit les principaux résultats obtenus. Cette section peut s'accompagner de tableaux et de graphiques (par exemple, les résultats de l'exemple donné ici aurait très bien pu être présentés sous forme de graphiques). Chaque tableau ou graphique, si présent, doit avoir son propre titre et des colonnes ou axes bien identifiés.


DISCUSSION
La section Discussion, ou Conclusion, donne l'interprétation des résultats. Les étudiantes et étudiants y disent ce qu'ils pensent de leurs résultats (les bons côtés aussi bien que les moins bons) et des conclusions qu'on pourrait en tirer.


BIBLIOGRAPHIE
La section Bibliographie liste les livres, articles ou tout autre matériel qui ont été consultés et qui se rapportent directement à la recherche effectuée.



EXEMPLE:


Relations entre la densité de daphnées et la fréquence d'attaques par leurs prédateurs
Jean Sérien et Paul Bonmeau, Ecole Secondaire du Septième Ciel, Nirvana, N.-B. E5K 7T3


Division: Sciences de la vie

Introduction

La vie en groupe peut offrir beaucoup d'avantages aux animaux. Elle peut par exemple, leur offrir une meilleure protection contre les prédateurs. Un mécanisme possible de protection est d'engendrer une certaine confusion chez le prédateur. En effet, on peut imaginer que plus un groupe de proies est grand, plus il est difficile pour le prédateur de se concentrer sur une seule de ces proies. De la même façon qu'il est difficile pour une personne d'attraper une balle lorsqu'une douzaine d'entre elles lui sont lancées en même temps, il peut s'avérer presque impossible pour un prédateur de capturer une proie au milieu d'un groupe qui bouge dans toutes les directions.

D'un autre côté, les plus grands groupes peuvent présenter le désavantage d'être plus facilement détectable aux y eux des prédateurs. On peut donc se poser la question suivante: est-il préférable pour une proie d'appartenir à un grand groupe, où il y a plus de chances d'être détecté en tant que groupe, mais peut-être moins de chances d'être capturé individuellement à cause de la confusion du prédateur? On peut aussi se demander ce que le prédateur lui-même devrait faire: préférer attaquer les plus gros groupes (plus facilement détectables) ou les plus petits (moins de confusion).

Dans notre recherche, nous avons abordé ces questions avec une proie, la daphnie, et un de ses prédateurs, l'épinoche à trois épines (Gasterosteus aculeatus). Nous avons offert à des épinoches le choix d'attaquer des groupes de daphines de différentes densités. A partir du nombre d'attaques observées, nous avons pu calculer le risque individuel de chaque daphnie, dans le but de déterminer s'il était préférable pour une daphine d'appartenir à un petit ou un grand groupe.


Méthode

À l'automne, nous avons capturé six épinoches à trois épines (quatre femelles et deux mâles) à l'aide de nasses à menés déposées dans une marelle le long de la rivière Petitcodiac près de Moncton. Nous avons transféré ces poissons à un aquarium d'eau douce. Nous avons aussi obtenu des daphines en filtrant l'eau d'un étang. Certaines de ces daphnies ont été données aux épinoches pendant plusieurs jours afin d'habituer les poissons à ce genre de nourriture. Les tests expérimentaux ont eu lieu dans un aquarium de 40 litres, recouvert de gravier dans le fond. La température de l'eau a varié entre 15 et 18 C. Une des six épinoches a été placée dans l'aquarium et nous lui avons donné 1 jour pour s'habituer à son nouvel environnement. Par la suite, une rangée de trois éprouvettes lui a été présentée. Chaque éprouvette était longue de 10 cm, large de 2 cm, et séparée de ses voisines par 15 cm. Dans ces éprouvettes, nous avons placé 40, 10 et 2 daphnies à l'aide d'une pipette. Un bouchon empêchait les daphnies de s'échapper. La position de chaque éprouvette le long de rangée a été déterminée au hasard par tirage d'un numéro dans un sac. A partir du moment où l'épinoche a lancé sa première attaque (définie comme un contact entre le nez de l'épinoche et la paroi de l'éprouvette), nous avons compté le nombre d'attaques dirigées envers chacune des éprouvettes pendant une période de 4 minutes. Nous avons répété ce protocole pour chacune des autres épinoches, et calculé une moyenne pour l'ensemble de ces 6 poissons.


Résultats

Pour fins d'analyse, nous avons divisé la période de 4 minutes en deux. Pendant les deux premières minutes, les épinoches ont dirigé, en moyenne, 28, 19, et 6 attaques envers le groupe de 40, 10 et 34 pour le groupe de 40, 10 et 2 daphines, respectivement. En divisant le nombre d'attaques par le nombre de daphines dans chaque groupe, on peut voir que le risque individuel de chaque daphine était de 0.7, 1.9 et 3 attaques par daphine dans les groupes de 40, 10 et 2 durant les deux premières minutes, Pour les deux dernières minutes, ces chiffres changent à 0.3, 1.6, et 17.


Conclusions

Plus un groupe de daphines est dense, plus il semble attirer les épinoches du moins au début. Ceci se reflète dans le plus grand nombre d'attaques dirigées envers les deux plus grands groupes lors des deux premières minutes des tests. Cependant, une fois que les épinoches commencement à attaquer les daphines, leur attention semble se transférer vers les groupes plus petits, tels que montré par les résultats des deux dernières minutes des tests. L'ensemble des résultats suggèrent donc que les plus gros groupes sont plus attirants, mais qu'une fois près de ces groupes les prédateurs essaient de minimiser l'effet de confusion en attaquant les parties les moins denses du groupe, ou en recherchant des groupes moins denses dans les environs.

Tout au long des tests, le risque individuel de chaque daphine était moins grand dans les groupes les plus denses. Nous en déduisons qu'il est préférable pour une daphine d'appartenir à un grand groupe, du moins lorsqu'il se fait attaquer par une seule épinoche. Il reste à savoir si la même conclusion pourrait s'appliquer à des attaques simultanées par plus d'un prédateur, et ceci pourrait faire l'objet de recherches futures.


Bibliographie

Grier, J.W., and Burk, T. 1992. Biology of Animal Behavior (2ième éd). Mosby Year Book, St. Louis.

Milinski, M. 1977. Do all members of a swam suffer the same predation? Zeitschriftfur Tiepsychologie 45, 373-388




Droit d’auteur © Science Est, 2015. Tous droits réservés.

Home | Contact Us | Français
 
 


Fundy Regional Fair
Venue: UNB Saint John
Date: April 7, 2017
District: Anglophone South
Registration Deadline: March 31, 2017


L'Expo-Sciences des Districts Francophones du Nouveau Brunswick
Venue: Université de Moncton - Campus de Shippegan
Date: April 7, 2017
District: Francophone nord-est, nord-ouest, et sud
Registration Deadline: TBD


River Valley Regional Fair
Venue: UNB - Fredericton
Date: April 7, 2017
District: Anglophone East, West, and North
Registration Deadline: March 28, 2017



WRITEN REPORT EXAMPLE

Below, you will find an example of the kind of written report that will be expected by the judges during the NB Regional Science Fairs.

The Project Report is a 5-page document that presents your project to the judges in written form. (The judges have an opportunity to read this document before the Regional Science Fair and they will use it to prepare for their interviews with you.) The Project Report should be a summary of your project, not just the text that appears on your display.

The complete project report must be no longer than five pages and must include:
  • Title of the project
  • Name of the student(s)
  • Name of the school
  • The division to which the project belongs

It should also have these sections:
  • Introduction, Background and Purpose
  • Question
  • Methods and Procedure
  • Results, Observations and Conclusions/Discussion
  • Acknowledgements
  • References
  • Changes to a continued project
  • Bibliography

INTRODUCTION, BACKGROUND, PURPOSE and QUESTION
The introduction gives the objective of the research, or the question that was asked and what you hope to achieve. The introduction is normally written in such a way as to grab the attention of the readers. One trick is to give hypotheses that could provide an answer to the question, and make predictions as to what the results should look like based on those hypotheses. Another trick is to make a link with the economical or applied potential of the topic under study.


METHODS and PROCEDURE
The Methods section describes the methodology that was followed and the materials used to carry out the project. It is normally written in such a way that the readers, if they choose, could duplicate the main lines of the study.


RESULTS and OBSERVATIONS
The Results section gives the main results. The text can be accompanied by tables and/or figures. If tables or figures are present, they must have a title, and their columns or axes must be well identified.


CONCLUSION / DISCUSSION
The Discussion (or Conclusion) section is the place to interpret the results, to say what one thinks of the results (the "good" and the "bad"), their implications and why they are important.


ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS
Acknowledgements is the recognition of those individuals, institutions and businesses that provided significant assistance in the form or guidance, materials, financial support or facilities.


REFERENCES
Key references used in the development of your project. Quotations and resources cited within your report must be listed.


CHANGES TO A CONTINUED PROJECT
If the project is a continuation of work done in a previous year, you must highlight any changes or modifications made.


BIBLIOGRAPHY
The Bibliography lists the significant sources that were consulted and that pertain to the study (volumes, books, articles, audiovisual, documents, web sites, interviews, etc…)



EXAMPLE REPORT:


Effect of Daphnia swarm density on the attack rate of a predatory fish,
the stickleback

Mark Myword and Mary Krissmus, PaksakHigh School, Paksak, NB, E7Y 8H6


Division: Life Sciences

Introduction

For animals, living in groups offer many advantages. One of them is protection against predators. For example, the more individuals there are in a group, the greater the chances of detecting the approach of a predator. Also, the more individual prey there are, the harder it may be for the predator to concentrate on just one and successfully catch it. In the same way that it is difficult for a person to catch a ball when a dozen are thrown at him or her at the same time, it may be confusing for a predator to capture a particular prey when a great number of them are milling about, overtaking one another or moving in all directions.

On the other hand, dense groups may be more easy to detect by predators and may therefore draw more attacks upon themselves. Therefore, it is hard to predict whether prey should aggregate in dense groups (maybe more chances of confusing the predator, but also more chances of being detected first) or in less dense ones. It is also unclear what the predator itself should do; go for the dense group because of the great number of prey there, or for the small group because of the ease of catching prey without getting confused.

In this experiment, we tested whether the three-spined stickleback, Gasterosteus aculeatus, which is a predator of Daphnia (also called the water flea), prefers to attack big or small groups of its prey. We also calculated the average risk of each Daphnia in groups of different sizes, to establish whether Daphnia should seek to live in large or small groups.


Methods

In the fall, we captured six three-spined sticklebacks with minnow traps set in a small tidal pool along the PetitcodiacRivernear Moncton. Four were females and two were males. They were kept together in a 40-liter aquarium filled with freshwater. We also obtained Daphnia by filtering water from a freshwater pond. Some of these Daphnia were given to the sticklebacks to get them used to this kind of prey. All tests took place in a separate 40-liter aquarium covered with gravel at the bottom and with the water temperature varying between 15 and 18 degrees Celsius. One of the six sticklebacks was placed in this aquarium and given one day to get used to these new surroundings. Then a row of three test tubes was lowered into the aquarium. Each tube was 10 cm long, 2 cm wide, and was separated from its neighbor by 15 cm. One tube contained 40 Daphnia, a second one contained 10 Daphnia, and the last one had 2 Daphnia. We had transferred the Daphnia into the tubes with a pipette. Each tube was stoppered to prevent the Daphnia from escaping. The order in which each of the three tubes was positioned along the row was determined by drawing their number from a hat. From the moment that the stickleback directed its first strike to any one of the tubes, we started counting the number of strikes at each tube for each minute of the next 4 minute period. A strike was designed as a contact of the stickleback's snout to any part of the test tube. We repeated this test with each one of the other sticklebacks, for a total of six fish tested. An average was calculated from these six fish.


Results

We divided the 4-minute experimental period into two halves. During the first 2 minutes, the sticklebacks directed, on average, 28 attacks at the 40-Daphnia group, 19 at the 10-Daphnia group, and 6 at the 2-Daphnia group. During the last 2 minutes, the number of attacks changed to 12, 16, and 34 attacks towards the 40, 10, and 2-Daphnia swarms respectively At all times during the test, the individual risk was lower for Daphnia in the largest group. We therefore conclude that large groups are beneficial to Daphnia, at least when they are under attack by a single stickleback. Whether the same applies to situations with many sticklebacks could be tested future experiments


Conclusions

The larger a swarm of Daphnia is, the more attractive it seems to be at first for a stickleback. Indeed, during the first two minutes of our tests, the absolute number of attacks was greater for the largest swarm sizes. However, once a stickleback starts to try to feed on Daphnia, its attention seems to shift to the smaller swarms. This is shown by the reverse relationship between attack frequency and swarm size in the last two minutes of the tests. We concluded that sticklebacks detect larger swarms more easily, but that they may try to overcome the confusion effect of large swarms by attacking less dense parts of it, or by switching to less dense groups nearby.

At all times during the test the individual risk was lower for Daphnia in the largest group. We therefore conclude that large groups are beneficial to Daphnia, at least when they are under attack by a single stickleback. Whether the same applies to situations with may sticklebacks could be tested in future experiments.


Bibliography

Grier, J., and Burk, T. 1992. Biology of Animal Behaviour (2nd. ed.). Mosby Year Book, St. Louis.

Milinski, M. 1977. Do all members of a swarm suffer the same predation?ZeitschriftFŸr Tierpsychologie 45, 373-388.




Copyright © 2015, Science East. All Rights Reserved